jump to navigation

Do You Have Friends Who Are… Lesbians? July 19, 2007

Posted by WishBoNe in Emotions & Feelings, Food and Drinks, Random Thoughts, Relationships.
trackback

During lunch, the topic of lesbian came up when my colleague asked if I have such friends. No. Not that I know of, anyway. Her housemate had asked her the question because she felt she was being wooed by one of her colleagues. She asked my colleague to touch her. Her hand, I mean. She obliged. Her housemate said, she didn’t feel strange but when her colleague touched her, she felt tingly all over.

So, the questions started coming, how would she know that her colleague was one? Did she display anything that would be evidience to her sexuality? No. Her housemate had asked the colleague directly. Vehement denial. In this society, who would want to be ostracized?

This is a sensitive topic. While lesbians were not discussed recently, not that I have read recently, homsexuality was debated. An MP was asked to reflect on people’s views instead of being myopic. Although he wasn’t accused of being myopic directly.

This doctor pointed out her concerns of gay and homsexsual books that were easily available in North America next to the children’s section. At the same time voiced her reasons for educating her children in Singapore.

I wonder what will happen in future.

Comments

1. xinyun - July 19, 2007

mmm, i’ve friends of different sexuality preferences.
they don’t dress like butch nor do they go all lovey dovey in public.

the only way to tell, is when they look longingly into each other’s eyes.

2. WishBoNe - July 19, 2007

@xinyun
I was even asked this question too. The questions also included if we would be able to detect someone who is not “straight” just by looking at them at 1st glance.

3. xinyun - July 20, 2007

wishbone, i don’t think anyone could tell if someone is a lesbian with one glance.

gays, maybe.
but lesbians, close to impossible.
unless we happen to be in a lesbian pub but even so, not everyone in that pub is.

4. WishBoNe - July 20, 2007

@xinyun
I wonder why some would want to ask that question. I must agree with the lesbians part.

5. eStee - July 24, 2007

Is there really a gay gene, thats my question…

6. WishBoNe - July 24, 2007

@eStee
Good question. Frankly, I don’t know. I don’t know if it’s to do with the hormones or the upbringing or the expectations.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

