jump to navigation

Reading After a Long Hiatus July 11, 2007

Posted by WishBoNe in Books, Family, Just For Fun, Random Thoughts, Relationships.
trackback

I have taken up reading again. Novels, short stories, mostly fiction. No, I didn’t visit the library. It has gotten worst. The kindergarten kids will scream, run, play and lord knows what as long as they can produce the loudest noise possible. Some parents will shout at them to quiet down. They do, for a minute and the ruckus starts again.

Now, where was I? Oh yeah. I rented a book from Sans Bookshop. It’s one of my favourite place because of the range of books available. The books are usually in good condition. The ones in the libray depends on luck. The cover are torn or one of the pages would be missing and the story just gets disrupted. I used to devour 8 books per week until my schedule got packed.

I missed reading. Although, this book was interesting at first, I got disrupted by the first and third person narration. The flow was there but the narration caught me off track a few times. Been quite some time since I did a book review. I used to do a book review in primary school because it was part of the homework. Everyone would get a few pieces of the paper with various designs and use any to submit the completed review. I had fun with all those designs. I had even more fun reading.

Nancy Drew was my first book. It got me hooked on detective series for a while. I went on to read The Hardy Boys, Famous Five, Enid Blyton series and many others. Looks like I shall have to manage my time better.

Comments

1. incywincy - July 13, 2007

Can u send me an email with ur MSN add? i can’t add u. and i dunno why after i clicked “add”, and ur name didn’t appear on my list. anyway. just email me k. i got something to share with u… 🙂

2. Sicarii - July 13, 2007

I preferred the Hardy Boys and Enid Blyton, especially her Famous Five and Secret Seven series.

The fairy-daisy series weren’t bad too, my favorite was the one with the tree and Saucepan-man. Can’t remember the title of the book though.

3. davienne - July 14, 2007

i only liked nancy drew.. and a few enid blyton series. even as a kid i found them too british, heh.

i recently only started renting books again, too. its burning a hole in pocket!!

4. WishBoNe - July 14, 2007

@incywincy
Maybe because I didn’t use my MSN. Was adding you when I was using eBuddy.

@Sicarii
Tree and Saucepan-man? Odd, haven’t heard of it. Perhaps that was in my list of genre 😀

@davienne
It sure burns a hole in the pocket 😛 I may go to the library again since I read quite fast.

5. KLW - July 17, 2007

I love that you mentioned Nancy Drew. I worshipped Nancy as a child, and thought it would be fun to pick it up again as an adult. It’s still a good read! Ah, memories of childhood books.

6. WishBoNe - July 17, 2007

@KLW
Oh yes, re-reading those books brings me back to those carefree days 🙂


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

