jump to navigation

Discovery VIII: Time Share May 5, 2007

Posted by WishBoNe in Emotions & Feelings, Holiday, Random Thoughts, Transport, Travel.
trackback

Seems like I was lucky to be stuck at this so-called presentation of maximum 60 minutes on a “new” company called Discovery Lines or something like that. I had a call from Global Trend (the lady was long-winded, kept repeating my information, at least 3 times) after I had completed their survey. I thought that was it but it wasn’t. A few days later, I had a call from the same(?) lady saying that I was selected to win 3 gifts; 7 nights stay in a hotel in Bangkok, free air humidifier and something else that I didn’t catch. All I had to do was to spend a maximum of 5 hours to listen to their talk.

Login for Discovery VIII

I don’t know why I decided to go, she was pretty insistent, saying I could go over after work, best would be that day. Crazy. I told her that I was busy for this week and she immediately asked if I were free today. In the end, I decided to give it a try. Just before I could end the call after getting the details, she repeated her words on “Never mind give a try, no point we just say, you can recommend to your friends” etc. Long winded, I tell ya.

I was rather late. I had two calls from them to confirm my time. The first was from the lady I was supposed to meet, the second was the gift number. Why the heck didn’t the lady get the number and give it to me over the phone? They are very low-sow too, this was a bad start to towards the presentation.

The lady attending to me was young and she sounded different from the lady (sounded older) whom I was supposed to meet. She was sweet and went through everything in details. Asked me personal questions for 30 minutes. I could have spent 2 hours stuck there with her trying to pyscho me into buying their subscription fees.

The membership sounded very good, with $600 rebate if I were not to travel for the whole year due to various reasons or I could transfer to someone to use or I could get up to 60% discount on local hotels (4 or 5 stars). Their hotel stay per night, I saw from Hilton was SGD51 USD51.

She was about to go through the various hotel locations when DD called. I had purposely set my mobile to vibration mode just in case she got carried away and never stick to the 60-minute time limit. DD’s call was timely, it was just the 60th minute that she had the chance to finish her sales talk. I didn’t like her manager though. She had a proud attitude and felt that it wasn’t her lost if I were not to subscribe to them.

I just did some search and found that someone had it worst than me, 2 hours just to hear them and being pushed to buy their services. I did get the gifts though, the free 7 nights stay had a clause though: attend a holiday presentation or else, the full charge of the stay will be implied.

Frankly speaking, I didn’t like the open area during the talk. It was too noisy. So, the point is that this company may be out to suck our hard earn money. The various name changes does raise some eyebrows.

Comments

1. What is it With Timeshare? « A Mind of My Own - June 8, 2007

[…] Club than Discovery. The attitudes of both employees at both companies are totally different. One turned ugly while the other was polite throughout the […]

2. SunShine - July 2, 2007

My advise to all – DON”T attend this Discovery VIII talk at all. I’m trying to canel my membership and they wanted to charge me with few thousand dollars for the cancellation fee. It’s not even stated in the contract and they claims that the contract is legal binding so after 3 days of “cooling” off period, they can charge the customers at any % of cancellation they “like” in this case.

3. WishBoNe - July 2, 2007

@SunShine
Very good advice indeed. I have searched forums and all I see are bad reviews about them.

4. Karen & Fiona - July 13, 2007

they are really damn screwed up. one moment they are saying on one hand how they need to control their number of membership and on the other kept pushing my friend to sign up. Even at the point of time my friend rejected, the SE brought her manager and both tried to convince my friend. After not being able to convince my friend their attitude turn bad, insulting and stuff. Really bad place. So much for the “no obligations come and listen”.

5. WishBoNe - July 15, 2007

Oh, I agree. It was the same. The “manager” sure had “good” PR skills, I can tell. Kept asking why. If it were so good, why did I need to be “randomly” drawn to be the “lucky winner”?

6. Lewis - September 24, 2007

Dear all, Please help!

Today, I received a Discovery 8’s lawyer firm letter to reclaim for
the payment!

What should I do?

Kindly advise.

Thank You.

Regards,
Lewis

— In atcsingapore@yahoogroups.com, “liewkimfatt”
wrote:
>
> Thanks for ur advise, David, Johnson, Ken and Jessica!
>
>
> — In atcsingapore@yahoogroups.com, jessica halida
> wrote:
> >
> > Hi Liew,
> > Don’t worry, they won’t have the capacity to do that as they had
> not given you any service yet for your money…. so far as this
> forum/mailing list is started, I saw many people just ignore it and
> nothing happen.
> > You actually stand a good chance of reporting them to local
> authority should they keep spamming you and even threat you. Basically
> they know that many people will just be AFRAID just by their threat,
> even they had no ground of pursuing it.
> > Me and my husband ignore them long time back.
> >
> > Cheers,
> > Jessica
> >
> > liewkimfatt wrote:
> > Hi ps Tan,
> >
> > Do you mind to explain further? are you sure they won take any legal
> > action?
> > kindly advise, thanks.
> >
> >
> > — In atcsingapore@yahoogroups.com, ps Tan
> > wrote:
> > >
> > > Just ignored them will do.
> > >
> > >
> > > —– Original Message —-
> > > From: liewkimfatt
> >
> > > To: atcsingapore@yahoogroups.com
> > > Sent: Tuesday, November 14, 2006 10:41:51 AM
> > > Subject: [atcsingapore] Discovery 8
> > >
> > > Hi all, I signed up the membership 7k (paid 1k, left 6k) on 20 Oct
> > > 2005, we never activate/use of this membership until now since
> > > agreement stated need to pay up to 50% to activate the membership;
> > > plus important is me and my wife found out the package is useless to
> > > us since we seldom traveling and it such a burden to us.
> > > The nightmare comes when they sent a letter to request to pay
the due
> > > amount 6k. I told them we decide to terminate the membership and we
> > > are not expecting the refund of 1k, at first they refuse, after
> > > negotiating, they request 30% of 6k for penalty for termination. But
> > > in the first place, the agreement didn’t stated that the membership
> > > can’t be terminate, the cooling-off period and 30% of penalty. I
went
> > > to CASE, they just come out with a letter for me to pass to the
> > > company to negotiate the 30% of penalty to terminate the membership,
> > > and the company still considering and will get back to me by this
> week.
> > > Dear all, pls kindly advise, I really wan to terminate the
membership
> > > to stop my headache… Thanks.

7. molen005 - September 29, 2007

Hi, I just attended the talk yesterday nite. It was terribly long and long-winded. They promised that it’ll be 90 minutes only, at the end, it was a full 3 hours and still the lady told me she hasnt finished yet. Wat a waste of my friday Nite.

Dont buy what they say. Discovery VIII is just build to eat our money! Dont fall for it!

Cheers

8. RJ - October 4, 2007

Hi… i saw this blog. i jst come back frm the talk.. n i dunno why i get to sign up n pay $100 deposit. Just curious to ask you all, esp Wishbone, you mean that when you cant to cancel the membership, they say they’ll charge you few thousands dollars? is it true? then i mite as well cancel it tml. i’d rather lose my 100bucks. well learning lesson for me. can some one enlightened me abt this. thanks

9. WishBoNe - October 9, 2007

@Lewis
You might want to engage CASE for your case if they continue to pursue you for payments.

@molen
Thank god, I didn’t buy.

@RJ
This I’m not sure because I never bought any from them but I do know they don’t have good reputation.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

