jump to navigation

We Are Not Equal After All April 27, 2007

Posted by WishBoNe in Emotions & Feelings, Handheld, Mobile Phone, Random Thoughts, Relationships, Technology and Gadgets.
trackback

Tug of war [via Flickr uploaded by 3amfromkyoto]

I read with interest on modobs’ view on equality of male and female. Previously I had wondered about the role of being a wife. We are still struggling to find that balance in accepting that despite the gender, we are still able to do that job.

I have not been subjected to such behaviours due to being the weaker sex during my years in the IT industry. Not that I know of anyway. However, comments such as “usually girls don’t use PDA phones”, “but both of u are women, you should be able to bond” among others. Why can’t I like using a PDA phone? If that other women find herself unable to communicate with me or both of us have totally different viewpoints and unable to respect that, how on earth do I bond with her?

What I prefer to think is that fighting for equality is an uphill task. What we should fight for is acceptance of individual tastes. What say you?

Comments

1. modobs - April 27, 2007

Thanks for the link, WishBoNe.
In fact, I think the fight for equality consists today more on how to gain respect from the other sex.

2. WishBoNe - April 28, 2007

That’s what seems to be the case. For example, we have the equal rights to fight for that position in a company. It’s the acceptance of the better skills despite the gender of being able to take up that role that is part of the component to getting that position.

3. DK - April 28, 2007

Gals using PDA phone is getting more and more common.

4. WishBoNe - April 28, 2007

Yep, I’ve seen some using Nokia Engage when it was launched.

5. Are SG Girls Materialistic? « A Mind of My Own - July 3, 2007

[…] I wonder if the progress of this country has made the women materialistic. It has often been in discussion that men and women are equal of some sorts. Women should be able to work and still clean the house after a hard day’s […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

