jump to navigation

I Stand By the Door April 16, 2007

Posted by WishBoNe in Emotions & Feelings, Random Thoughts, Transport, Travel.
trackback

I was totally turned off by the lack of consideration of the people in the bus. I had to take this bus just near my place and it’s the only bus that gets me to my student and it was packed. There were still some spaces near the back door and no one wanted to move to the back because they were going to alight at the next stop and didn’t want the hassle to squeeze through others to alight.

There was this lady who instructed them loudly at the back door to move back, they did, by mere inches. The bus driver was a either coward or just plain lazy. If I were kinder, he had a sore throat. I missed that bus and waited for another 20 minutes for the next bus which was less sardines like. I only need to take a 5-minute bus ride to my student and it turned out to be a 43-minute wait.

The lady was talking louder to her male companion who was sick of her complaints and he told her to cool it when the bus finally went off. They took a taxi in the end.

Looks like the attraction of standing near the back door was too strong. Frankly speaking, we lack of social graces. This reminds me of boarding trains at certain stations. If they do love the door so much, maybe the transport system can be changed such that if they want to alight, they open the doors themselves.

Comments»

1. furfur angel - April 16, 2007

I kena the same while juz now while waiting for the feeder bus home, end up I had to take another bus which was a few cent more expensive… these pple, I hope they kena giap by the door when they alight *evil laugh*

2. WishBoNe - April 17, 2007

A few cents more? Gosh, I feel for you. The loud complaints don’t work anymore. I wonder if shaming that particular person who refused to move will make them move.


Leave a Reply

