jump to navigation

Stop Asking Me When! January 29, 2007

Posted by WishBoNe in Emotions & Feelings, Family, Food and Drinks, Friendship, Random Thoughts, Relationships, Romance/ Love.
trackback

I wished that there’s an Immunity necklace for me to wear, you know the necklace that is always an important feature in Survivor, so that no one will ask me when it’s my turn to get married. Marriage is something that is sacred, I repeat, sacred. I felt as if I was being forced into marriage last night. Yes, I know, age is catching up on me and I will find it difficult to give birth once I hit the big 3.

I had a dream when I was younger, the kind young naive girls think. I would get married before 20, have my 1st child at 21 – 22, have another 1 at 24 – 26, be the young mother, retire by 40 because my kids should be able to work already and enjoy doing my favourite stuff such as travelling and writing during retirement. Look at me now. I am still unmarried.

Everytime my maternal grandma hears my voice, she’d go “Got find anyone or not? Make sure choose the right one hor.” 😐 Did I mentioned that she’d like great grandkids? I’m really starting to worry about going to dinners. They should be relaxed and I shouldn’t be the focus of when I’m getting married! It’s already difficult to attend weddings to catch up with friends, so please stop asking me.

Comments»

1. - January 29, 2007

Then don’t attend wedding dinners will solve all problems.

2. WishBoNe - January 29, 2007

There are some friends whom I haven’t seen regularly, so I still have to attend their weddings. It’s not practical not to attend unless I’m really unavailable on that date.

3. me - February 1, 2007

yes, i can understand how it feels when someone asks you a question that you are not prepared for. to them it’s just an innocent question, to you, it’s missed expectations. it feels bad because in the perfect world, you should probably already be married, settled down with kids and preparing for retirement, but because you are not, such questions tend to remind you that you are not falling short of your expectations, and as you reach the middle-crisis, it really starts to rub you in a very irritating and infuriating way that is hard to put a finger to.

solution, stop meeting those who don’t know when not to ask such questions. they are just not sensitive enough to be your friends.

4. WishBoNe - February 2, 2007

Frankly speaking, I meet these people only during their weddings and baby births, so, I can’t avoid them totally. It’s their “natural” questions to them because they are married or have kids.

5. furfur angel - February 3, 2007

i hate teh wedding FAQ (read it in my bloggy)

6. WishBoNe - February 3, 2007

Oh yea, I read your blog. Urgh! However, avoiding it totally doesn’t really help. It’s a cycle. 😦


Leave a Reply

