jump to navigation

Why I Love/Hate Valentine’s Day January 21, 2007

Posted by WishBoNe in Emotions & Feelings, Just For Fun, Random Thoughts, Relationships, Romance/ Love.
trackback

I like to enter contests and see if I will win something, anything. Heh. I’m entering this post in engtech’s contest. Now, I wonder if my title is valid. 😐 Oh well, here goes nothing.

Bear love [via Flickr uploaded by Curlgirl1]

There’s only about 3 weeks to February 14. Ah, the famous date that everyone knows, except for babies. It’s the day where the hearts are all around. The day where the roses are out in buds to full blooms. The day were you declare your love to your crush and hoping you won’t be crushed. The day where you profess your life-long commitment and hoping you won’t be regretting it.

Now, I love Valentine’s Day because I love presents. Tell me, who doesn’t? I can’t wait to see what kind of V-Day related present I would be getting. Exciting, isn’t it? However, I have never been presented with any flowers of any kind except for handmade ones. I won’t mind having real ones at times like this. There I go again, harping about flowers. However, I just can’t help it, when I see any girl with a bouquet of flowers in her hands, I just go “Hey! How come I don’t have?” Can someone please explain to me why girls just go crazy thinking like that?

Besides flowers, gifts that are often most bought are jewellery, soft toys, cuff links, tie pins, wallets, undies, and other sorts of weird things that couples buy. Unconvetional gifts are now the trend to break away from the giving of soft toys and flowers. I like to receive gifts (besides, I would like to give gifts except I end up with a headache trying to find the suitable gifts) but I dislike choosing my own gift. It doesn’t feel exciting at all. It’s no longer surprising and doesn’t have the kind of feeling. You know what I mean?

I hate Valentine’s Day because all the things are too darn expensive! The flowers, teddy bears, dinner, lunch, soft toys, cards, etc. They have suddenly gained price rise in a matter of weeks. I truly wonder if anyone would write a love letter these days to profess their love.

Maybe I don’t really hate Valentine’s Day, it could be I hate the way it has been commercialized till the stage whereby everything is more expensive than usual even with the sales going on. It’s also the day whereby you sigh when you see other loving couples. Now, I wonder if I will get to see someone proposing on that day. Maybe you have been part of it?

Comments»

1. - January 21, 2007

In my opinion, Valentine’s Days are just too commercialize this days. Flowers, gifts & the candle light dinners are all marked up just for this day.

It’s nice to receive something on Valentine’s Day but at the expense of paying much more for it is something ridiculous. Maybe I’m not that romantic but after speaking to many friends out there, we do have the same thought in mind.

Why must we spend so much just for this day? If a couple is happy together, everyday is Valentine’s Day.

2. WishBoNe - January 22, 2007

It’s been too commercialize that gifts have to be expensive to be considered as “gifts”? Sometimes, handmade gifts present the efforts better than gifts that are bought.

3. - January 22, 2007

Very seldom u’ll receive hand made gifts. Too time consuming and not everyone takes arts as one of the subjects in school.

So what gift are u getting? “hint”
[edited]

4. WishBoNe - January 22, 2007

Arts is a wide area, we were never taught mosaic, batik, scrapbooking, painting, charcoal painting all at the same time. 4 years is not enough to learn the wide scope.

I prefer gifts to be surprises 😉

5. How Long Together? « A Mind of My Own - February 3, 2007

[…] Thoughts, Relationships, Family, Television, Romance/ Love, Emotions & Feelings. trackback Valentine’s Day is coming up. I am in love with Renoma wallet. I wished I had found out what model it was and I […]

6. Group Writing Project #1 Complete and the winner is... « //engtech - internet duct tape - May 22, 2007

[…] “Why I Love/Hate Valentine’s Day” by Twinky Thots (Save this post at del.icio.us) […]


Leave a Reply

