jump to navigation

Affected by Work December 21, 2006

Posted by WishBoNe in Career, Emotions & Feelings, Random Thoughts, Relationships.
trackback

We have different viewpoints. Some of see work as a means to eat (填饱肚子). Others see it as a way to share their passions. Me? I see it as a way to pay my food, housing (in future), transport (bloody expensive now), bills (handphone, internet, etc). I don’t intend to let my work spill into my social life but ever since I’ve changed companies (3rd for this current company), work has been creeping into my social life. I was late for my dinner gathering and badminton session. It’s depressing.

I just feel like staying at home and stare at the wall. I don’t want to think about anything except attempt to continue my project which is stuck yet again. I have been feeling rather moody, down and sad because I was actually looking forward to spending more time with DD.

Sometimes I wonder why did I stick to doing IT? Why did I even spend a bomb on this degree that has brought me nothing but anticipation, anger, frustration; except the part where I’ve made a few friends along the way? Why did I upgrade myself? To have a better life, that’s all.

The problem with IT is that any system roll outs, they have have to be done during the long weekends. Work is core business and you can’t tell the boss that since the normal working hours are from 8.30am to 5.30pm, you can use this time to roll out the system upgrades. It means a loss of income for the company and even though the employees will be very happy, the bosses ain’t gonna be. It’s the same for any IT company. You just pray that you won’t be the one who has to come back during the weekends and public holidays. Unfortuntately, in future, I’ll be the one doing the support and I may have to sacrifice my 1st Christmas Eve this year. I don’t even know if I’d be free on 23rd December. 😡

I just pray that such occurrence would be rare. Upgrades done very year during December can be a strain. It’s outright absurb. However, bosses feel that December is a good month because most people are not in the office and the upgrades can be done with minimum fuss. Of course la! They’re not the ones doing it. They won’t be the ones coming in during odd hours and troubleshooting it. They just switch on their handphones and wait for the news.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

