jump to navigation

Dopod 838Pro 1st Impression November 28, 2006

Posted by WishBoNe in Handheld, Mobile Phone, Technology and Gadgets.
trackback

Well, since this is a 2nd hand device, I guess my expectations dropped somewhat. However, the casing was quite well looked after, albeit slight chip at the infrared area. I like the sliding keyboard although still trying to get used to it without pressing twice or more to get the letter I want. There’s a limit to the number of suggested word list though. I don’t understand but I guess, it helps that it doesn’t lag for this part. It’s a bonus to frequent use of text messages since I don’t like lagginess when I’m keying in.

I tried the camera, I agree that the camera despite being 2 megapixel, it is lousy, especially at night even with night mode on. The photos turned out dark and no amount of touching up would do because of the noise once you try to brighten it. I notice that there’s an editing tool for the images, haven’t fully tried it out yet. When in camera mode, there is a few options which I can’t interpret from the icons. Guess, I shall have to read the 376-paged downloaded manual that DD had saved for me.

Since it’s my first time navigating a PDA, I find it daunting that there are so many different code names from the menu itself. Well, actually no, it’s the unfamiliarity of navigating smart-phones. It took me a while to figure out what Today actually means and it doesn’t mean Today. It actually means what’s going on for today such as the date, upcoming appointment, tasks due, etc. Quite handy.

Now, I sorta regret buying the new refill (2007) for my passport sized organiser. Maybe I should sell it. Who wants it? I’m selling it at a lowered prize, let me know, ok?

Back to my new toy, I’ve yet to download anything such as a new theme, the current theme needs face-lift. I’m using the Windows Default as the red theme just hurts my eye. I wish I can have the data cable on my hands. I may have to buy a new memory card but microSD cards are way too expensive now since it’s rather new. Why can’t they stick to SD cards? The microSD card is really very small, K800i has a new card called Memory Stick Micro™ (M2™). It’s also tiny. What I worry now is how the heck do I keep the tiny cards safe?

The following list contains what I like about 838Pro so far:

1. Large screen size
2. Easy to use calendar functions
3. Video call (despite the lag of about 1 – 2 seconds & the noise)
4. QWERTY keyboard
5. 5 sec preview of the SMS received (however, when I’m taking photos, I don’t want any preview lei, it’s distracting when I’m trying to capture that critical moment)

Apparently, the latest ROM version for Asia is here. Australia has another version number that is slightly larger. I wonder why. More should be coming once I become familiar with it.

Comments»

1. - November 28, 2006

The learning curve for a ppc phone is rather huge. There’s tons of freeware out there which simply will blow your mind.

just a word of caution. Phone function might not work if the software u install conflicts with one another.

2. WishBoNe - November 28, 2006

I guess I will install certain programmes and hope that I don’t get carried away. Haha.


Leave a Reply

