jump to navigation

Despicable User July 30, 2006

Posted by WishBoNe in Career, Emotions & Feelings, Technology and Gadgets.
trackback

I have met users who know nothing about technology and have gotten used to it. However, the best part is that one particular user wanted me to help him recover a corrupted file attachment. I went into details and figured out from his version that the attachment was previously uploaded by his ex-colleague.

He wanted to me to help him uncorrupt it. As if I know how. I tried to be patient with him and said I can’t do anything if the original file that was uploaded is already corrupted. He sent and email to the system owner a few minutes later asking for the system’s owner advice and CC to me.

I was so turned off. I sent a reply to all, including BCC my leader, saying

“As per our tele-conversation, if the original file was already corrupted, the system is unable to decrypt what is in it. Please look for the originator. Thank you for your kind understanding.”

Was I mean? I don’t know but I got the impression that he wanted to let the system owner know that he had contacted me but I failed to help him. In other words, he was implying that I didn’t help him at all. My 1st thought was to bash him up. However, I won’t dirty my hands on such people.

Since he was out to discredit the IT support, I am not going to let him get away with it. I did help him. He didn’t understand my meaning and hung up very quickly. A very gan cheong guy.

Comments»

1. - July 31, 2006

At least he did cc you to let you know about it.

Such users exist in the world. Can’t blame them for being deaf and dumb.

They expect you to be God-like to be in IT support.

2. WishBoNe - August 1, 2006

CC to let me know he’s deaf & dumb. Gosh. What a laugh.

Ok, I feel better this way.

3. - August 1, 2006

Glad to see you laugh.

Look at the bright side of life. Work is just a small part of life.

4. A Mind of My Own | Upset - April 11, 2009

[…] something that was nearer to VVIP usage which end up being under-utilised because the users were unhappy with the mirade of fields. VVIPs were very happy with it because it’s easy to do a search and […]


Leave a Reply

